The European Union and the United States of America Hold Their Eighth Energy Council Meeting

U.S. Secretary of State Michael R. Pompeo chats with U.S. Secretary of Energy Rick Perry and U.S. Representative to the European Union Federica Mogherini at the United States EU Energy Council meeting in Brussels, Belgium on July 12, 2018. [State Department photo]

Media Note
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
July 12, 2018

The following is a joint statement by the United States and the European Union:

The eighth EU-U.S. Energy Council met today in Brussels. This was the first meeting of the Energy Council during the Administration of President Donald J. Trump and allowed for a substantial exchange of views, in an open and constructive atmosphere, on the opportunities for transatlantic energy cooperation.

Today’s discussions focused on energy infrastructure, innovation and transitions as important means of promoting transparent, open and secure energy markets. In this context the meeting discussed the modernisation, development and resilience of energy infrastructure, including the importance to critical infrastructure protection through cybersecurity; clean energy innovation and other technology cooperation; and engagement with industry. Regarding energy security, the meeting addressed issues related to energy policy and markets; diversification of energy sources, suppliers and routes; cooperation relating to reforms in Ukraine’s energy sector and to its transit role; and cooperation on energy vulnerable regions. The participants encouraged the working groups under the Energy Council to meet again shortly to take forward EU-U.S. cooperation. They looked forward to the Energy Council meeting again in due course.

The Energy Council was co-chaired by High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice-President of the European Commission, Federica Mogherini, Vice-President of the European Commission in charge of Energy Union, Maroš Šefčovič, Commissioner for Climate Action and Energy, Miguel Arias Cañete, U.S. Secretary of State, Michael R. Pompeo and U.S. Secretary of Energy, Rick Perry. Federal Minister Juliane Bogner-Strauß represented the Presidency of the Council of the European Union.


The EU-U.S. Energy Council was established in 2009 to promote transparent, open and secure global energy markets; foster policy and regulatory cooperation on efficient and sustainable energy use; and pursue joint research and development on clean energy and energy efficiency technologies.